Treaty conference in Tāmaki Makaurau





He honore he kororia ki te Atua, he maungarongo ki te whenua, he whakaaro pai ki ngā tangata katoa.
E ngā mana e ngā reo e ngā karangaranga maha, he mihi rangatira tēnei ki a koutou e whai whakaaro mō te kaupapa nei “I te Tiriti ki te Whenua”. Ma tēnei kaupapa, ka whakamārama i ngā take me ngā huarahi e tukuna iho ai e te takitahi me ngā rōpū, ō rātou ahurea, ō rātou tuku ihotanga, kia mau pūmau.
Nā reira e manu taki, tēnā koutou, tēnā koutou, tēnā tātou katoa.

As Treaty settlements now realign the relationship between Māori and the Crown, the 175th anniversary of the Treaty of Waitangi provides an opportunity to reflect on its place in Aotearoa/New Zealand.This conference focuses on changing understandings of the Treaty since the Second World War and how these have influenced New Zealand policy making, institutions and communities. It assesses the impact of these developments on the current position of the Treaty and its role in the future.

This conference will benefit those working with the Treaty across all sectors including health, education, social services, law, heritage, creative arts, local and central government, iwi, environmental management, treaty settlement, the public sector and business, and those studying the recent history of the Treaty and its impact.

The event begins with a two day conference where panels of invited scholars and practitioners explore the Treaty ‘on the ground’ since World War II (to be held at Auckland War Memorial Museum 6-7 July 2015).  There will be the opportunity for extensive discussion and for the sharing of experiences and challenges. The third day is for new and emerging scholars to share their research at a colloquium (to be held at Massey University Auckland, 8 July 2015).

Speakers : include Michael Belgrave, Aroha Harris, Cybele Locke, Melissa Williams, Kim Workman, Tom Bennion, Cindy Kiro, Sharon Hawke, Te Kawehau Hoskins, Michael Dreaver, John Hutton, April Bennett, Margaret Kawharu, Peter Meihana, Maria Bargh, Cluny Macpherson, Haami Piripi, Mayor Meng Foon, Damian Skinner and Ngarimu Blair.


Check out their website Treaty on the Ground

Popular posts from this blog


New Support for School Boards Around Te Tiriti o Waitangi Application

This land is your land